Rory Block…on Rory Block!

Rory Block is crazy busy…seriously. She’s been touring for 34 years, and touring AT ALL makes for a very busy musician. Lucky for us, she made some time to say a few words about herself and the upcoming New York Blues Hall of Fame Concert & Ceremony. Did we mention that she’s one of the inductees? Well, now you know. By the way, you should probably get your tickets for the show – it is this Saturday. But we’ll let Rory tell you all about it:
RoryBlock-03-SK

This special event at the Orpheum Theater in Tannersville comes at a very exciting time for me. I have just completed the sixth and last recording of a project I call “The Mentor Series,” which will eventually be released as a boxed set. This series is my life’s work in a box, consisting entirely of tributes to the rediscovered blues masters who I met in person as a teenager growing up in New York City. In retrospect, who would have thought that Greenwich Village was the place to be to meet people like Mississippi John Hurt, Son House, Skip James, Reverend Gary Davis, Bukka White and others? Now I understand more than ever how lucky I was to have been in the right place at the right time. Today it seems ever more precious, fleeting and almost magical. The inspiration I got from this face to face, personal experience has lasted throughout my life, and the Mentor Series is my way of saying “thank you.” I will have my autobiography, my Robert Johnson teaching dvd, and the first five of the Mentor Series with me at Tannersville, and we await the sixth release by fall.

LFDplate6-hr crop

Credit: Shonna Valeska

During the last 34 years of touring, I have enjoyed each and every place I have performed. There are great people everywhere, and I think music really brings us together like almost nothing else can. I like to say that my biggest problem these days is that I am having “too much fun.” In particular I love telling stories about the history which has unfolded for all of us who love and value American roots music, and I weave these tales and perspectives into the show.
After years of struggling and trying to get a handle on slide, I have finally come to terms with it, in particular after an inspirational nugget I gleaned from the playing of the wonderful Bonnie Raitt, and I love to squeeze a little bit of a guitar workshop into every set just for fun. I am looking forward to the night and being there with the other wonderful artists on the show.
With gratitude,
Rory

The New York Blues Hall of Fame Concert & Ceremony is this Saturday, July 16th, at 8PM in the Orpheum Film & Performing Arts Center. Get your seats NOW before time runs out: call 518-263-2063 or visit our ticketing website.

Leave a comment